Do What You Can

I was reading Mark 14 yesterday when something new caught my eye.  I’d read this story many times:  it was the story of Jesus being anointed at Bethany.  After the woman poured the expensive perfume on his head, Jesus’ disciples complained about the “wasted” gift, saying it could have been sold and the proceeds given to the poor.  Jesus used this as a teaching moment and then said the words I noticed:  “She did what she could”.  She used what she had and did what she could to minister to Jesus.

I looked at that and realized that I don’t need to compare myself with what others do, that I don’t need to be concerned with trying to do what I cannot do, my job is to use what I have and then do what I can for Jesus.

What happens when I use my meager gifts to “do what I can” for Jesus?  It may be giving a smile to a frazzled clerk at Walmart, or thanking a waitress for serving my meal, or lending a helping hand to someone in need.  The challenge is to put what I can do into action and not sit on the sidelines doing nothing.  We all have things we can do for Jesus, I’m going to try to practice this one today.

 

About lancehurley

Executive Director of Ignite Church Planting: Chicagoland
This entry was posted in Bible Thoughts, Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

