The Little Things

Sometimes it’s the little things that make a large difference.  Yesterday, Darla and I went to Algonquin for Lifeline Christian Church’s second grand-opening week.  I noticed Darla talking to a lady across the room prior to church and when I sat down, she told me that Kathy was a newcomer to Lifeline.  Kathy introduced herself to me and that’s when I asked, “How did you find out about Lifeline?”  She told me, “I received a door hanger that told me about the church getting started.  I decided to come and see what it was like.  I love it here!”

After that conversation, I wondered, “Did I hang that information on her door?”  In September, I’d gone to Algonquin with some of Ignite’s church planters to spread the word out about Lifeline coming into the community.  That day, we hung around 1,500 information packets on doors and while we prayed for people to respond, none of us knew what would happen.  That’s why I loved meeting Kathy yesterday, she was a great reminder of how little touches can influence people.  She came to church because a little piece of information was hung on her door.

Little touches can make a big difference in people’s lives.  Yesterday in Algonquin, I was reminded again of why I do what I do.  New churches bring people to Jesus, many who are waiting to be invited.  I wonder who around me might be influenced by a little touch?  I’ll try to live with my eyes wide open today.

About lancehurley

Executive Director of Ignite Church Planting: Chicagoland
This entry was posted in Ministry Report, Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

