Finding Treasure

It is always fun to find something you have been looking for.  Yesterday, I was at Barnes and Noble in Geneva when Logan (one of my twin sons) said to me, “Dad, I found Handel’s Messiah.”  He knew this was something I wanted for Christmas.  He had looked all over for the CD, but couldn’t find it anywhere.  When he held it up yesterday, he gave me a big smile because he knew this was something I’d wanted.  I bought it!

Today, I was antiquing with my wife, oldest son and his wife in Crown Point, IN.  We went to an antique mall and entering one stall, I spotted it:  a Pfalztgraff tea pot.  I had been looking for this item since spotting one (and missing the purchase) 4 years ago at another antique mall.  The tea pot matches the pattern on my wife’s dishes and I knew that it was something she would value.  (Her birthday is less than 2 weeks away.)  Seeing that tea pot brought a big smile to my face.  I bought it!!

There are treasures to be found each day.  Yesterday, I was at Lifeline Christian Church in Algonquin, when I said hello to a lady at a nearby table.  She looked at me and said, “You look much younger than your picture.”  She told me that she has seen my picture in Ignite’s monthly publications and I looked younger in person.  (I believe I may need a new photographer.)  We talked and laughed and I left having made a new friend.  Treasure found.

Look for some treasure today.  It may come as you read your Bible, interact with others, discover God at work in a new way.  (I’ll be working with a potential planter in Joliet tomorrow.)  Finding treasure always brings a smile to my face, how about you?

About lancehurley

Executive Director of Ignite Church Planting: Chicagoland
This entry was posted in Ministry Report, Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

