Dropping An Anchor

I read something the other day from the Bible that caused me to think.  Acts 27: 29 occurs after Paul and the ship he was traveling on had been driven across the Mediterranean Sea for 14 days by a strong hurricane.  On the 14th night, the sailors on board sensed they were approaching land.  They took soundings and found that the water depth was decreasing.  That’s when this verse caught my eye, “Fearing that we would be dashed against the rocks, they dropped four anchors from the stern and prayed for daylight.”

I used this verse earlier in the week in devotions with our Executive Team.  I asked, “Have you ever felt like all you could do was drop an anchor and pray for daylight?”  Every person around that table understood what I was talking about, for we have all faced times of uncertainty, of anxiety and stress.  Times where all we do is drop the anchor and pray for daylight.

I realized as I read this verse:  I have anchors in my life that give stability in times of turmoil.  An ongoing relationship with Jesus anchors my life, my wife is an anchor of strength and wisdom, my family background of faith has provided that anchor of foundation, and the lessons of life have shown me that God is an anchor to depend on.

Storms of life, uncertain times, stressful situations, these realities reveal the significance of having anchors.  If you are currently in a stormy time, drop the anchor and pray for daylight, God never leaves or forsakes us.  He is an anchor for our lives.

 

About lancehurley

Executive Director of Ignite Church Planting: Chicagoland
This entry was posted in Bible Thoughts, Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

