Remembering Influence

I was in a restaurant the other day with a friend talking about his church plant project.  After taking our order, the waitress brought our food and I asked her, “Betsy, is there anything you need prayed for today?”  She stopped and said, “Let me think about that for a minute.”  My friend and I continued our discussion and when she came back she said, “I do have something.  My sister has been sick and the doctors can’t figure out what is wrong.  She’s been asking people to pray, so would you do that?”  I asked her sister’s name and then we prayed for her sister, for Betsy and our food.  As we left, Betsy gave us a big smile and said, “Thank you so much for praying for her.”

Something so small, yet I know it made a difference to Betsy.  I told my small group the other night, “Small things we do on a consistent basis make the biggest difference.”  I’m going to try and remember that today as I interact with people:  small things done because I follow Jesus can have significant impact.

About lancehurley

Executive Director of Ignite Church Planting: Chicagoland
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

