Letting it Steep

I enjoy using a tea bag as an illustration of influence.  Influence is seen as soon as the bag is dropped into a clear cup of hot water.  Almost immediately, the tea bag begins to influence the water, spreading its’ strength through the cup.  The longer the bag sits in the cup, the stronger the influence.  I use a tea bag to talk about the difference that God makes in our lives and the difference that we can make in the world by choosing to be “do-gooders” for Jesus.  It can be used to stress the importance of getting God’s word into our lives, allowing it to work on us.

For a couple of weeks, I’ve been working on a passage I need to write a message on for this weekend.  The first time I read the verses, nothing came to mind to share.  This is where the tea bag exercise came into play:  I read the passage each day and let it steep in my heart.  Today, it broke open for me and I’m ready to write.

Drink a cup of tea today and watch the bag change the hot water.  Like the tea bag, God’s presence and God’s word changes our hearts.  The reality I’ve experienced:  the longer he’s in, the stronger the change.

About lancehurley

Executive Director of Ignite Church Planting: Chicagoland
This entry was posted in Bible Thoughts, Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

