Reminded of the Value

I wrote a message this week from Acts 4.  One of the points I made focused on Peter and John standing courageously against the might of the Jewish leaders.  They were able to do this because they knew they were not alone:  the Holy Spirit was there and they also had each other.

I was reminded of the importance of Christian brothers twice yesterday.  I met with several friends up in Oak Park to talk about an idea one of the men had about an endeavor that could help churches. Sitting around the table, tossing ideas back and forth, laughing at things that were said, I realized how enjoyable it is being with like-minded friends.  (I also think the idea that brought us together has a lot of potential!)  The second instance was going bowling with four friends last night as we celebrated the impending wedding of my weightlifting partner.  We razzed each other, talked about old times, did a lot of laughing…we enjoyed being together.  There is something special about friendship.

Friends add strength, multiply the fun, generate creative synergy.  The bottom line:  Friends make the journey enjoyable and memorable.  As I prepare to participate in my friend’s wedding this weekend, I’m looking forward to spending time with friends.  It’s going to be a lot of fun!

About lancehurley

Executive Director of Ignite Church Planting: Chicagoland
This entry was posted in Ministry Report, Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

