Reaching Different People Groups

Last Saturday, I participated in the Ride for Life, a motorcycle run that raised money for the American Cancer Society.  As we prepared to take off, my wife commented, “I didn’t know there were this many motorcycles around.”  There must have been 600+ motorcycles taking part in the ride.  Looking around at the riders, I told her, “This is a whole different sub-culture, another people group we need to reach.”  I also recognized:   it will take a different sort of church planter to reach this crowd of people.

Today, I happened to look at my phone and saw it was 10:02.  Seeing this, I said a prayer, asking God to send workers for the harvest field.  Luke 10: 2 says, “The harvest is plentiful, but the workers are few.  Ask the Lord of the harvest, therefore, to send out workers into his harvest field.”  Today, I asked God to send workers to Chicagoland who would start churches focused on reaching the diverse people groups of our region.

Right now in Chicagoland, there are people groups waiting for Jesus’ message to be presented to them.  These people will respond positively when the right worker comes and presents Jesus’ message in the right way.  We need a diverse variety of churches planted in Chicagoland, by a diverse variety of planters.  I need to think, dream and plan larger and with more diversity!  I need to keep asking God to send the workers who will reach these different people groups.  “Lord, please send workers into this harvest field!”

About lancehurley

Executive Director of Ignite Church Planting: Chicagoland
This entry was posted in Bible Thoughts, Ministry Report, Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

