The Hidden Word

David wrote in Psalm 119: 11, “I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you.”  Recently, it looked like something I have been praying diligently for was suddenly going to open up.  Circumstances were headed in the direction I was hoping for, pieces seemed to be falling into place, even the timing seemed perfect.  However, at the last minute, I received word that what had looked so promising was not a real possibility.  I was disappointed to say the least.

I talked to God about what had happened and asked him what he was doing?  I have experienced the love and care of my God, I know that he is not capricious, playing with my emotions.  I did wonder what was going on.  Suddenly, I remembered a hidden word from God, “Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.”  James 1: 17    This helped me, the verse stored up in my heart renewed my spirit.  I was reminded that God gives good gifts, that he is watching and involved, and that this will not change.

The hidden word gave wisdom that pointed me in the right direction, it provided strength when I was weak, it was the sword that caused the enemy to run in fear.  God gave me exactly what I needed, when I needed it.  This promise holds true for anyone who hides the word in the heart.

About lancehurley

Executive Director of Ignite Church Planting: Chicagoland
This entry was posted in Bible Thoughts, Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

