Waiting: The thing no one likes to do

Our family has been praying for a job for my youngest son since he walked across the university stage at graduation 2.5 months ago.  He has his certificate to teach math in the secondary school system and has been busy applying all over the area.  Today, he went on an interview at a high school that seems to be an answer to our prayers for a job.  He was the first candidate to interview and the principal told him that he will let our son know by the first of the week.

This is where it gets difficult for me:  I don’t like to wait for things.  I’ve been praying for a job for my son every day (multiple times through the day) and I am ready for a positive answer.  All along, we have been praying for the right place for our son, could this be the one?  Looks like we’ll know the first of next week.

A couple of weeks ago, I spoke on Paul’s experience with the Holy Spirit in Acts 16.  Two times, he attempted to go into an area and do what God had called him to do and two times, he was denied entrance.  The Bible says that they were “kept by the Holy Spirit from preaching the word in the province of Asia.  When they came to the border of Mysia, they tried to enter Bithynia, but the Spirit of Jesus would not allow them to.”  Paul could have stopped moving forward, however, he went to Troas, a city on the shore of the Aegean Sea.  This city would serve as a launching pad for ministry when God made his plan known.

Looking at Paul’s example, I see how I’m supposed to wait:  with anticipation and purpose, without complaining or grumbling.  As hard as it is, at the right time, God does make things clear.  I’ll try to spend my time praying instead of fretting the next couple of days.  I know that God can be trusted.

About lancehurley

Executive Director of Ignite Church Planting: Chicagoland
This entry was posted in Bible Thoughts, Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

