Taking Time to Celebrate

There have been a lot of good things happening in the Hurley household over the past couple of weeks.  I took time on my walk today to think about and thank God for the many ways he has blessed our family.

The celebration began with the wedding of my oldest twin son two Saturdays ago.  The weekend started with the family gathering together on Friday night for rehearsal.  I had the privilege of performing the ceremony and we had a good time rehearsing and then eating together.  Then came Saturday:  what a great day it was, the bride was beautiful, the groom was handsome, and everything went off without a hitch.  What fun we had dancing the night away at the reception.  That was the first event we celebrated.

On Monday, my oldest son and wife went in for an ultrasound.  They walked out of the room and my oldest was beaming.  I asked, “Boy?”  He replied, “Boy!”  We slapped each other’s back and celebrated the continuation of the Hurley name through my unborn grandson.  Reason to celebrate #2 (of course, I would have celebrated a girl as well, we’re all praying for a healthy child).

Then on Friday, my youngest went for another job interview at a local high school.  He called me on the phone to let me know that the interview had gone well.  I asked him when he would hear from the school and he replied, “Dad, the interview went really well, they offered me the job and I start on Monday.”  I let out a shout of delight, for this was a direct positive answer to a prayer I had been praying daily for over 3 months.  He is teaching AP Calculus and Geometry at a school six miles away from here.  Celebration event #3.

We are blessed and I wanted to take time to share what God is doing with my friends online.  Celebration is a good attribute, I encourage you to take time to celebrate what you see God doing around you.

About lancehurley

Executive Director of Ignite Church Planting: Chicagoland
This entry was posted in Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

