What’s Your Story?

On Sunday, I read the story of the man who was healed from demon possession by Jesus.  (Jesus healed the man by sending the demons into a herd of pigs, it is a great story, found in Mark 5.)  At the end of the passage, the man begged Jesus to take him along as one of his followers.  Jesus responded, “Go home to your family and tell them how much the Lord has done for you, and how he has had mercy on you.”  The man went and spread the word about what had happened to him over a 10 city region.  The ending line in this story, “All the people were amazed.”  As I thought about this, a couple of things came to mind:  

1.  I have a story to tell about what God has done.  I took time to reflect on the different ways God has blessed my life:  the gift of my wife, my children, the provision he pours out, the job that I love doing.  I have many different instances I can share with people about God’s active presence in my life.  I have been richly blessed, and I know my story is all about what God has and is doing.

2.  I need to tell my story.  I am not supposed to keep the story God has given me to myself.   It is designed for sharing with others.  In another verse Jesus said, “Let your light shine before men…”.  Stories are meant to be told, not hidden.  I need to keep talking about the different ways I have seen God at work.

3.  My story can make a difference when shared.  The man in the Bible passage had a story that impacted a region as he talked about Jesus.  My story can impact others as I share how God is working in my life.  People are always watching and always listening, this is why the story needs to be told.  People continue to be amazed by God’s presence and power.

What is your story?  The lessons learned from this man who encountered Jesus are ones that will not only benefit us, but everyone with whom we interact.  My encouragement:  Get out there and tell your story.  You know it best, let it out.  

About lancehurley

Executive Director of Ignite Church Planting: Chicagoland
This entry was posted in Bible Thoughts, Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

