Experiencing Africa through World Vision

I went through World Vision’s “Step into Africa” exhibit the other day and it was troubling, challenging and haunting all at the same time.  The exhibit allowed me to follow the footsteps of a child in Kenya through his life as he encountered different things.  He had lost his father at an early age to “the big disease” (AIDS) and when he was 10, his mother died from the same disease.  Following the voice of Kombo through the exhibit helped me realize how devastating (and overwhelming) this disease has become to the continent of Africa.

Last year, my wife and I decided to sponsor a child through World Vision.  “Yayo” lives in Rwanda and he is getting schooling, food and care through the sponsorship.  I try to pray for him regularly.  He is also in an area where AIDS is prevalent and after walking through the exhibit, I prayed again for Yayo, asking God to keep him safe.

I am grateful for all that World Vision is doing to help change the world through Jesus.  I walked away from “Step into Africa” realizing that I need to do more.  When my grandson is born, I think I will sponsor another child.  “Whatever you did for the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me.”  I know I have a calling and a responsibility to help.

About lancehurley

Executive Director of Ignite Church Planting: Chicagoland
This entry was posted in Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

