Lawn Mowing Lesson Learned

Mowing my lawn the other day, I spotted a couple of plants growing up around the tree in the front yard.  Stepping in closer, I realized that these plants were actually “shoots” from the tree.  At some point in time, the tree had dropped some seeds that had begun to take root and were now growing.  If allowed, these “shoots” would become new trees.  I reached down and pulled the new plants from the ground, root and all, because I didn’t want any more trees in the front yard.

Reflecting on this, I was reminded about the way sin can work it’s way into my life.  If I am not constantly vigilant, the seeds of temptation will take root and before I know it a full-grown sin pattern will appear.  I don’t want to allow negative habits in my life.  I know how important it is to make sure sin never has a chance to dig down roots and take over.  There were several Bible passages that came to mind:  “Do not let the sun go down while you are still angry, and do not give the devil a foothold.” (Ephesians 4: 26-27)  “We take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.”  (2 Corinthians 10: 5)  These (and others)  speak to the need of being on constant guard against the enemy.

If I don’t want volunteer trees growing in my yard, I need to pull them before they grow too deep.  If I don’t want sin patterns to become entrenched in my life, it’s best to eliminate them early, before it grows into a big problem.

[A thought from mowing the other day.]

About lancehurley

Executive Director of Ignite Church Planting: Chicagoland
This entry was posted in Bible Thoughts, Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

