The Fine Line

We have a new church starting today in Bensenville, IL:  The Anchor Christian Church.  I woke up early this morning with all sorts of things running through my head:  will anyone show up, will there be enough room, how will we plug new people in, etc.  I recognized as I lay there that I was walking the fine line between anticipation / anxiety.

Anticipation fills a person up while anxiety empties.  Anticipation brings energy while anxiety depletes.  Anticipation looks forward with excitement while anxiety looks around in fear.  I know what I want to do, but sometimes it seems like anxiety overwhelms.  That’s why it’s good to know that God gives a key to battling this enemy.

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.”  Philippians 4: 6-7

I love this prescription from God and I put it into practice this morning.  I prayed for Sam Barnhart and his team, I prayed for those who are thinking about coming for the first time, I prayed for all the volunteers staffing the different ministries.  Giving God my attention, I felt the anxiety (that all church planters have on opening Sunday) melt away.  I can’t wait to see what God does this morning at The Anchor!

About lancehurley

Executive Director of Ignite Church Planting: Chicagoland
This entry was posted in Bible Thoughts, Ministry Report, Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

