Why Start a Church?

Three weeks ago, our newest church started in Bensenville, IL.  Reflecting on the launch of The Anchor Christian Church, I was reminded of why Ignite starts churches across Chicagoland:

There are people who are hungry to connect with God.  One of the things I enjoy about opening day is watching newcomers walk into the facility.  Whether the church is meeting in a school, theater, bowling alley or even an office complex (like The Anchor), I love seeing people come for the first time.  I know they have come because they are looking for something that is missing, something they hope the new church will provide.

There are people who want be involved making a difference.  During my time at The Anchor, I have talked with several newcomers who are thrilled to be a part of a church that is showing the love of Jesus to the community in tangible ways.  These folks are already getting involved in what The Anchor is doing reaching out to the community.

There are people who are seeking Jesus.  I talked a lady yesterday who told me that she wants to know about Jesus.  She had never been to church and she asked me what she could read to learn more.  I told her to read the book of Mark (which I showed her on her IPad) and then the book of John.  My words, “These books will show you Jesus in action and then Sam (our church planter) can tell you more.”  As I prayed with her, I was grateful for this new church that was going to show her the way to Jesus.

These are just a couple of reasons why Ignite starts new churches across Chicagoland.  Each church plant helps bring spiritual food to hungry people, allows people opportunity to share the love of Jesus with friends and neighbors, and changes people’s destinies by introducing them to Jesus.  What a joy to be a part of what God is doing through each church started!!

About lancehurley

Executive Director of Ignite Church Planting: Chicagoland
This entry was posted in Ministry Report, Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

