A Long Memory

Recently, I spoke at the church I pastored for 19 years during their mission’s month.  I was talking to some friends when a man approached me and brought up a mistake I’d made in the past during a wedding ceremony.  He enjoyed recounting my mistake in the company of other people and laughed at my discomfort as I remembered the event.  Here’s the thing:  the wedding took place over 14 years ago, but he remembered it like it was yesterday.  I think he enjoyed reminding me how imperfect I am, while I remembered the embarassment of the moment.

Reflecting on his actions that day, I was reminded of one of my favorite verses:  “As far as the east is from the west, so far has he removed our sins from us.”  Psalm 103: 12.  Looking at the promise of this verse, I remember and rejoice that God doesn’t keep a record of my wrongs.  He refuses to continually bring my shortcomings up before me or tell others about mistakes I have made.  He loves me, forgives me and takes my sins away.

As God forgives and acts, so must I.  This was another good reminder to me after that day: I need to make sure I am remembering the right things when it comes to my interaction with others.  I want to be an encourager and builder, not a fault-finder.  Anyone with me on this?

About lancehurley

Executive Director of Ignite Church Planting: Chicagoland
This entry was posted in Bible Thoughts, Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

