What Does God Think?

I love the fact that the Bible is “living and active”.  A passage that’s been read many times in the past can suddenly bring a new insight.  This was what happened to me today as I was reading through Matthew.

The thought arose after Jesus baffled the Jewish leaders with a question on the authority of John the Baptist.  Talking among themselves, they said, “If we say ‘From men’ — we are afraid of the people, for they all hold that John was a prophet.”  (Matt. 21: 26)  The insight crystalized as the leaders responded to Jesus’ parable of the wicked tenants.  The Jewish leaders knew that Jesus was talking about them, so they looked for a way to arrest them.  “But they were afraid of the crowd because the people held that he was a prophet.”  Matt. 21:46

In both of these instances, the leaders were afraid to act because of what the people thought.  I could identify with their reaction, for there are times I don’t act because I’m afraid of what others might think or say.  Instead of being concerned about what people think, maybe decisions should be based on, “What does God think”?  When all is said and done, it really doesn’t matter what others think if God is directing my steps.  If I want to please my Father, I need to be willing to stand up and speak up for Him, regardless of what others may think.

The Jewish leaders lived in fear of what the people thought, I wonder what the result will be to choose to live with the “What does God think?” mindset?  That’s a choice I want to pursue.

About lancehurley

Executive Director of Ignite Church Planting: Chicagoland
This entry was posted in Bible Thoughts, Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

