The “5 Tool” Planter #1

In baseball circles, the player that every scout dreams about signing is the person who has each of the “5 tools”.  A “5 tool” player is one who can hit, hit with power, run, throw and field.  This is the player coveted by every scout and team.

Yesterday, at our regular church planters’ meeting, I gave a devotion based on something I had heard Stephen Gray say at a recent conference.  He talked about the Parable of the Talents in Matthew 25.  The owner gave talents (a portion of money) to each of his servants “according to their ability”.  The man given 5 went out and earned 5 more, the one with 2, earned 2 more.  The man given 1 talent did nothing with his, hiding it away in the ground.  When the master returned, he rewarded / punished each man according to what he had done with what he was given.  He said this to the men who had doubled what they had been given:  “Well done, good and faithful servant!  You have been faithful with few things; I will put you in charge of many things.  Come and share in your master’s happiness!”  Each man was rewarded with the same statement.

We all know the third man received punishment because of what he chose to do with what he had received.  What would have happened if he had put his one talent to use?  I believe that his master would have given him the same commendation he gave the other two men.

We spent some time yesterday talking about what a “5 tool” planter looks like.  (I’ll share more of this discussion in next week’s blogs.)  Several things I realize from our discussion:

  • God’s given me specific gifts according to my ability
  • I want to make sure I put to use what I have been given
  • I don’t want to be envious about what I have not been given
About lancehurley

Executive Director of Ignite Church Planting: Chicagoland
This entry was posted in Bible Thoughts, Ministry Report, Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

