The Things We Value

My wife had a colon screening this morning.  (Doesn’t this sound like a great way to spend a Friday morning?)  Sitting with her in the recovery room, I watched her sleeping and realized, once again, how much of a treasure she is to me.  We had prayed together before her procedure and I had prayed while she was having it done, but something about seeing her lying there touched my heart again.  I told her on the way home that I loved her and that I was grateful everything had gone well.  (Honestly, I don’t know where I would be without her, she is such a huge part of my life!)

There are people in our lives who are always there for us, people we count on, people we trust to give good wisdom and practical advice, people who love us no matter what.  My wife is one of those people.  I have a lot of material “things”, but when all is said and done, those things don’t mean much at all.  The valuables I have been blessed with are the people and relationships that fill my life.  In both of these areas, God has richly blessed me.

It was good having a chance to reflect this morning.  In my wife, I have a partner, a friend, a mate and so much more.  I want to do more to show her how much I value her.  Why don’t you take time this weekend to tell someone you value how much you appreciate them?

About lancehurley

Executive Director of Ignite Church Planting: Chicagoland
This entry was posted in Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

