Significant Days

We all have days in our lives that we hold in significance.  March 26 is a significant day in the Hurley household.  On that day, 27 years ago, my oldest son was born.  I remember many details about his early morning birth, but one of the things that stands out was when I held him for the first time.  I looked at his eyes, counted his fingers and then told him how much I loved him.  I promised to be there to protect him.  (This is the same sort of thing he did with his son that was born 3 months ago.)  March 26 is a significant day and every year we set time aside for our family to celebrate together.

We all understand what a significant day is (a birthday is something we all have).  Another day I recognize as being significant is the opening day of a church.  Last weekend, I attended the launch of a friend’s new campus.  It was thrilling to see people walking through the doors for the first time.  The campus pastor told me after that service, “This day was significant in our church’s life, but hopefully, was significant in the lives of many who came for the first time.”  I believe it will be.

I was standing with my son last night as he secured his new son in their vehicle.  I put my arm around his shoulder and said, “Son, I love you.  You are a man who follows God, you are a good father, you do a job that makes a difference.  God definitely blessed your mother and I twenty-seven years ago.  I am proud of you.”  I am a man who is blessed in many ways.  I certainly enjoy celebrating those significant days.

About lancehurley

Executive Director of Ignite Church Planting: Chicagoland
This entry was posted in Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

