Making an Investment

A couple of times each month, I work with Options, Center for Independent Living.  This organization helps young people with disabilities find jobs, gain self-esteem and get the encouragement each of them need.  I am privileged to work with this organization as a volunteer mentor.

Last week, one the guys I mentor came into our meeting and said, “I have great news!  I have a job interview today!”  He was so excited about the possibility of getting a job.  Since this was his first interview ever, we spent time talking about the interview process.  I told him some of the things that I look when interviewing a potential church planter.  We spoke about how he should present himself, how to shake hands and the importance of looking his interviewer in the eye as they talked.  I told him to speak clearly as he answered questions and to smile.  I also prayed with him as we left.

All through the afternoon, I prayed for him.  As the time for his interview drew close, I was thinking about him.  I told my wife later, “I  almost felt like he was one of my kids.”  I realize:  as we have spent time together, I have come to know him and want him to move forward in life. I want the best for him.

When we invest in people, we can make a huge difference.  Our investment brings influence.  I realized this when the young man asked me to pray for him a few months ago.  I want to continue to invest in people who are far away from God.  I want to continue investing in the lives of our church planters, who in turn, invest in the lives of people in their community.

It was a good day last week with my friend.  I am praying for a job for him.  There is no “sure thing” when it comes to investment.  I believe we will never go wrong by investing in people.  I encourage you to look for avenues of investment around you.

About lancehurley

Executive Director of Ignite Church Planting: Chicagoland
This entry was posted in Community Development, Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

