A New Look Inside

Last Friday, I had an x-ray taken due to an injury I’d sustained lifting weights Wednesday night.  (I had crushed my left pinkie finger between two 45 lb dumbbells.)  I was not too concerned when I left the hospital, but when I returned home, my doctor called and said that the end of my finger was broken and that I needed to see an orthopedic doctor.

While waiting for the orthopedic, I pulled the x-rays from the folder to look at my finger and saw my skeleton hand revealed.  Something came over me as I looked at the picture for I saw God’s handiwork.  I thought of God’s creative hand when I saw the different joints and bones (yes, there were fragments on the end of my finger) and realized the way the hand works.  I took a moment and thanked God for his excellent design.  The words of Psalm 139 came to mind, “”You created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.  I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.”

It kind of thrilled me to see my skeleton hand in the x-ray.  I am grateful for a God who created the body like he did, a God who heals the body like he does, a God who promises a new body for all who follow him.

My accident gave opportunity to express more appreciation to my Father.  Interesting what a look inside can bring about, isn’t it?

About lancehurley

Executive Director of Ignite Church Planting: Chicagoland
This entry was posted in Bible Thoughts, Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

