An Answer to Prayer

Last Monday, I walked with my brother in law through several of his planted fields in western Illinois.  The corn is coming up, but they have not had much rain in the past month and the crops are starting to suffer.  Walking along, I noticed the clouds beginning to build in the western sky.  I told my brother in law, “Looks like rain may be coming.”  He responded that the storms coming from that direction had been missing their fields.  I said, “Let’s pray for rain, how about now?”  We both took off our caps and I prayed that God would send some rain on the parched fields.

On our way home, the wind began to blow and the rain drops started to fall.  We arrived home in front of the rain that showered down on the ground.  We stood outside watching it fall, thanking God for the way he had answered our prayer.  I told my wife about this story as we traveled home and she said, “That was a quick answer, wasn’t it?”

I pray about a lot of different things during the week:  for my family and for Ignite’s church planters and church plants. I pray for God to send more workers to Chicagoland for we are always looking for more planters.  I pray for God to put me in the right place to meet needs and that I will keep my eyes open for opportunities.  I pray for funding for our ministry and for more partners who will  help us reach more people for Jesus.  Writing this, I thought, “Wouldn’t it be great if all of these prayers were answered as quickly as my prayer for rain on Monday?”

I know that prayer does not always work as quickly as I’d like.  That is alright, for quick answers or not, I know prayer is vital to my connection with God.  This is why I will continue praying and celebrating answers as they come.  God’s answers help me remember he is always there and he longs to bless his children.  God always knows what I need and when I need it.  Look for an answer to celebrate today.

About lancehurley

Executive Director of Ignite Church Planting: Chicagoland
This entry was posted in Ministry Report, Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

