Looking Out

Last Friday, I was sitting on my front porch praying for our neighbors.  I told the Lord that I really wanted to minister to our neighborhood, bringing Jesus’ love and light to those who don’t know him yet.  As I prayed, I saw a neighbor friend a few doors down dragging a hose around his house.  I prayed for him and then thought, “Maybe this is an answer from God, the least I can do is go down and initiate a conversation.”  I walked down the street and was going to compliment him on his flowers when I noticed he was wearing a heart monitor.  I asked about it and he told me he has some heart issues that are concerning him.  I prayed with him on his front lawn.  I went back home and thanked God for his quick answer to prayer.

The final mark of a person who follows Jesus is found in John 15: 8.  Jesus said, “This is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples.”  There are all kinds of fruit that we can bear:  good works (done to point others to Jesus), the fruit of witness (telling others about Jesus), encouragement (lifting others up), standing up for what is right.  While there are many different ways to bear fruit, there are a couple of observations about fruit bearing.

We are to be producing.  There should always be some kind of fruit issuing from our lives as we follow Jesus.

We are to be prolific.  The term “much fruit” talks about an abundance of fruit overflowing from our lives to impact others.

We are to be “pointers”.  Our fruit does not point to ourselves, but to the God who has given us all things.  Our fruit should be noticeable to others, so that we can point them to the one who gives us the life and vitality to produce.

I want to bear much fruit impacting the lives around me.  I want to help others bear much fruit (I get to do this as I help our planters start new churches across Chicagoland).  I want to point people to the One who can help give hope beyond this life.  Bearing fruit begins when we take the first step.  Is there someone around you who could use a little “fruit” today?

About lancehurley

Executive Director of Ignite Church Planting: Chicagoland
This entry was posted in Bible Thoughts, Community Development, Reflections and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

