Sharing Jesus

A couple of weeks ago, I talked about a conversation I had with my neighbor friend.  Last Saturday, his wife stopped by to let me know that he had suffered a stroke after having his heart procedure.  She said the prognosis was good, but that he could definitely use our prayers.  Then she said, “More than anything, I want him to know Jesus.  I don’t want him to go to hell.  Please pray for his salvation.”  We prayed right then and I told her that I’d be by to visit him.

I dropped by his room and asked if we could talk.  We talked about God’s love and I shared what it means to accept Jesus and why we need to accept Jesus.  I told him that I need Jesus as I am a sinner and cannot save myself.  I used the idea of a safety harness (he’s a deer hunter like I am) and said, “This harness only keeps a person safe if it is attached to the right thing.  Jesus will always hold us securely.”  We talked about how Jesus accepts us where we are, that we don’t need to get cleaned up before coming to Jesus, for Jesus is the one who cleans us.  I invited him to accept Jesus.  He said he’d think about it.  Then I prayed for him.

I left the room thanking God for the opportunity to talk with him uninterrupted.  I asked God to open his heart to choose Jesus.  I know a relationship with Jesus cannot be forced or manipulated, but I know I want it for my friend.

I want to help people find new life and hope in Jesus.  I need to look for more opportunities to share his love with those around me.  Sharing Jesus is a great reminder of what he has done for me.  I need to let him out more!

About lancehurley

Executive Director of Ignite Church Planting: Chicagoland
This entry was posted in Ministry Report, Reflections and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

