Words to Live By

I read this during my morning devotions the other day:  “I was young and now I am old, yet I have never seen the righteous forsaken or their children begging for bread.  They are always generous and lend freely; their children will be blessed.”  Psalm 37: 25-26

I looked at this and saw a reminder and a promise:

The Reminder:  Pursue righteousness.  When I am pursuing the lifestyle God outlines for his followers, I will be in step with him.  I’ll be able to hear his voice more clearly and have the courage to respond as he calls me to action.  I’ll choose to look in the right direction, refusing distraction by things seeking to derail me.

The Promise:  Preferred care.  God takes care of his children!  I love the promises outlined in these verses:  God’s protection and provision, having the means to be generous, prolonged care of my children.  I want to be under the care of God.

These verses are words I want to live by.  The question I need to ask:  “What am I going to do to pursue righteousness today?”

About lancehurley

Executive Director of Ignite Church Planting: Chicagoland
This entry was posted in Bible Thoughts, Reflections and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

