Shining not Shoving

My personal mission statement is that I want to shine for Jesus.  I want to shine brightly, consistently and compellingly as a follower.  Yesterday I met a guy who was very bold about his choosing to follow Jesus.  The problem came as I saw him interacting with others:  he was pushy, he was pious, he talked non-stop and no one could respond to what he was saying.  He told me that he had been in the gym earlier in the day and when he walked in, all sorts of people saw him and walked out.  His thought:  “Darkness runs when light is present.”  While his premise is correct, the reason people left could be that they don’t like the way he treats them.

1 Peter 3: 15-16 says this, “But in your hearts set apart Christ as Lord.  Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have.  But do this with gentleness and respect…”

I want to shine for Jesus, but I cannot shove him down people’s throats.  While I appreciated the boldness of my brother, I questioned his methodology.  I saw no gentleness at all in his methods.  Living a life that shines will cause people to question why we respond to life the way we do.  I will choose to shine today!

About lancehurley

Executive Director of Ignite Church Planting: Chicagoland
This entry was posted in Bible Thoughts, Reflections and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

