Feeling the Weight: Leadership

To stay in shape, I try to lift weights three times a week.  Our workout routine usually begins with lighter weights and then progresses to the heaviest we can lift.  The end of the heavy set is where it becomes dangerous, for muscles have been worked to exhaustion and are reluctant to cooperate.  This when having a partner standing by becomes very important. I’ve worked out with my partner for over 15 years and he is always there “spotting”.  A spotter stands by ready to protect, encourage and help.

When the weight comes off the stand, a lifter feels it.  With additional plates placed on the bar, the weight is felt even more.  Leadership is like weight lifting at times.  Things pile up, additional responsibilities are shouldered, different challenges arise; before long, the weight is bearing down relentlessly.  This is why it’s essential to have “spotters” who will stand by the leader.

I was reminded of this fact during an Ignite board meeting on Monday.  I came into the meeting feeling the weight of different challenges and decisions we face leading into 2013. I left the meeting with the weighted feeling reduced, because I knew that I was not alone.  I had been encouraged and strengthened by partners ready and willing to share the load.

I am grateful for these leaders who have chosen to help Ignite.  Even during those lonely times that every leader feels, I know that there are “spotters” ready to put their hand to the bar and help lift the weight.

About lancehurley

Executive Director of Ignite Church Planting: Chicagoland
This entry was posted in Ministry Report, Partnership Opportunities, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

