Feeling the Weight: Church Planters

Everyone starting a new church understands the “weight” present in each planting scenario.  The weight begins to drop on the planter and family with the move to a new location, it increases with the need of quickly developing a launch team in that new setting.  The weight grows as the urgency of launch day approaches and with it the reality of the week to week service planning.  At times, the weight of planting can seem overwhelming.

I love church planters!  The excitement, vision, intensity and desire to make a difference for the Kingdom these men and women display are inspiring.  Their calling to plant is not an easy one, for each planter accepts a weight of responsibility that comes from answering the call.

My greatest desire is for Ignite to be a constant support to our planters.  I was reminded of this as I talked with Dave Rudin in Algonquin earlier this week (Dave planted Lifeline Christian Church in 2010).  Discussing next steps for Lifeline, I asked, “What can I do for you?”  Dave’s response:  “You can keep doing this.  You will never know how valuable it is for me to sit down and talk through these things with you.”  He proceeded to tell me that one of the things he most greatly appreciates about Ignite is our willingness to be involved with each planter.  He said, “I know I am not alone.  I can count on you and others to be there when I need wisdom.”

Every planter feels the weight of responsibility for the church and community God has called them to.  I want Ignite to be there to share the load when the weight comes bearing down.  God has blessed us with special planters.  What a joy it is to serve together with them!

About lancehurley

Executive Director of Ignite Church Planting: Chicagoland
This entry was posted in Ministry Report, Partnership Opportunities, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Feeling the Weight: Church Planters

  1. Great stuff Lance, definitely feel that weight right now.

  2. Ed Taylor says:

    So glad you guys are there to help us bear that weight.

Leave a Reply

