God’s Love Lived Out

I recently met with a family prior to doing a funeral service for their son.  During this meeting, I was able to see a clear picture of God’s love.  The young man who had died had been adopted by the parents along with his two siblings.  Sharing their son’s story, the mom and dad described the adoption process to me.  The parents had married later in life and determined they wanted to share the love they had for each other with some children.  They began the adoption process, looking through picture albums of children who were available for adoption.  That’s when they saw their future family.  The dad asked the mom, “Are you sure you want to get three boys?”  The mother’s reply thrilled me, “Those are our sons.”  Soon the boys moved into a new family where they received love, protection, care and privilege.  They were adopted, chosen out of all the rest to receive new life.

Sitting there with the parents, I thought about what I have experienced as a child of God.  I was lost, trapped, helpless in my sin, but God chose me to become a part of his family.  My life changed completely when I met Jesus.  I moved from a desperate situation into new life.  I realize I was not chosen because of anything I had done, it was all because of God’s love for me.  Because of his love, my life was saved.

As our meeting concluded the other day, I thanked the dad and mom our for living out God’s love to their children.  I told them, “Those boys’ lives were changed forever when you adopted them.  You saved their lives.”  I thanked them for the example of God’s love they had shown.  Something to think about…

“For he chose us in him before the creation of the world to be holy and blameless in his sight.  In love, he predestined us to be adopted as his sons through Jesus Christ, in accordance with his pleasure and will…”  Ephesians 1: 4-5

About lancehurley

Executive Director of Ignite Church Planting: Chicagoland
This entry was posted in Bible Thoughts, Reflections and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

