A Visit to Lifeline in Algonquin

A couple of weeks ago, I spoke at a church in McHenry County.  Arriving in the area a little early and driving right past the Brunswick Zone where Lifeline Christian Church meets, I decided to stop by.  I entered the restaurant area and was greeted warmly by several of my friends who were setting up the sound and instruments for the service.  Dave Rudin, lead planter of Lifeline, gave me a hug and welcomed me to Lifeline (with a laugh).  We talked for a couple of minutes and then got involved with the set-up process.  I helped one of the ladies clear off all the tables in the restaurant, then set-up folding tables in the lobby and moved some of the portable crates out of the way.  I remarked to one of my friends during the process, “I love new church work!!”

It is hard work pulling off weekly services in a portable setting.  It takes many hands at work to put together a seamless worship experience.  That Sunday, I saw the unified team that God has brought together in this two year old church.  What a thrill to see the people of Lifeline involved and invested in the church.   I enjoyed laughing together, poking fun at each other, working together with friends.  There was a great sense of encouragement and camaraderie.  It was the church family in action.

What a great day it was!  I love seeing our new churches in action.  To be a part of the early morning activities was an extra special time for me.  Great job, Lifeline!  Something special is taking place in Algonquin, IL.  And yes, I do love new church work!!

About lancehurley

Executive Director of Ignite Church Planting: Chicagoland
This entry was posted in Ministry Report, Partnership Opportunities, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

