Snow Day

Much of our area is shut down tonight after a day-long snowstorm  has dropped (and continues to drop) snow at a feverish rate.  The roads are covered, the plows are off the road because of windy conditions and it’s looking pretty wintery outside.  All schools in our area were closed today and my youngest son, who teaches at a local high school, enjoyed having the day off.  There were many happy voices from children in our neighborhood this afternoon.   (I’ll bet the teachers were just as happy as the children.)

At a church planter’s boot camp in Grand Rapids, MI, last week, one of the presenters talked about the need for a church planter to have spiritual depth in his life.  One of the things he mentioned as an essential practice for every planter:  the need to get away from the normal for the express purpose of listening for God’s voice.

The reminder was good for me, as this is something that I don’t practice as much as I used to.  This came to mind today as I drove past children at play during the afternoon.  They were resting, playing, enjoying a day of freedom from the norm.

Taking time to decompress is something that I need to devote myself to with more regularity.  I need to take a weekly Sabbath, for I know it will help me in the long run. Sometimes the best thing I can do is to not do.  Just a thought from our snow day today.

About lancehurley

Executive Director of Ignite Church Planting: Chicagoland
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

