Checking the Connection

When the connection’s not intact, the power won’t flow.  I saw this truth in action the other day as I attempted to set the alarm on a church building.  When the alarm would not engage, I called the alarm company.  I explained what I was seeing on the alarm pad and the tech told me that I needed to check zone 2.  I walked over to the doors in zone 2 and gave them a visual check:  everything looked fine.  I thought I’d better give them the “tug” test.  Pulling on them, I discovered they were not closed all the way.  The tug drew the alarm connections together tightly.  I returned to the key pad, thanked the tech and then successfully armed the alarm.

This experience caused me to reflect on my relationship with God.  I recognize that this relationship is all about connection.

Without connection, the power cannot flow.  If I choose to not be connected to God, I will be living life under my own power.  My power is limited, God’s is limitless.

Without connection, I am not in a secure place.  There is great value in being protected.  Under God’s care, I can live securely, unafraid of the future.  When the alarm’s power was interrupted, the building was left vulnerable.

Without connection, I will never know when I am under attack.  The purpose of an alarm is to let the company know when the security is breached.  If I choose to disconnect from God, I’ll never know when I’m in a dangerous situation.

I try to take seriously the words of Jesus in John 15:5.  “I am the vine; you are the branches.  If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.”  It really is all about the connection.  Take time to check your connection today.

About lancehurley

Executive Director of Ignite Church Planting: Chicagoland
This entry was posted in Bible Thoughts, Reflections and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

