A Hunting Lesson 1

A couple of weeks ago, while hunting deer, I had the opportunity to harvest a large doe.  She was lying at the bottom of a hill and I wanted to get her closer to the edge of the woods for easier transport back to the farm.  I was pulling her up the hill when I remembered a gadget I had purchased a few years ago that was in my backpack:  The Deer Drag.  I pulled it out and looked at the picture on the package showing a hunter wearing the Deer Drag harness easily pulling a deer from the woods.  I thought, “This is going to be sweet!”  Opening the package, the harness unfolded, followed by the drag strings.  Imagine my surprise when I saw the drag strings were only 18 inches long.  I said, “That won’t work.”  Though I tried, the short strings made it impossible to drag a deer.  (The feet of the doe were sticking in my back when I tried to use it.)  I threw the invention into my backpack and thought, “This will be a sermon illustration someday.”

I drew several conclusions from this experience:

1.  Pictures do not always tell the truth.  While the picture showed one thing, I soon understood a different reality.  There was no way the dude in the picture was using this drag to pull a deer anywhere.

2.  Just because something looks good, doesn’t mean it is going to work for me.  In my context, this drag didn’t work because the doe’s legs were going to be up my back instead of dragging along behind me.  Either I needed to be a lot shorter or the strings needed to be a lot longer.

3. I believe this invention must have been designed by someone who had never had to drag a deer out of the woods by himself.  It was obvious that as designed, this thing was not going to work.  It may have been engineered for the task, but I cannot believe it had been field-tested by anyone.

4.  If I want to use something like this, I’d be better off finding something that is made to fit me right.  (This invention definitely has some possibilities, but it needed some “tweaks” to make it usable.)

One other thing, I probably should have practiced with this item before ever taking it into the field.  One look would have shown me the challenges of the device.  Next time, I’m going to ask a few more questions before making a purchase.  A lesson learned with some spiritual application to follow later in the week.

About lancehurley

Executive Director of Ignite Church Planting: Chicagoland
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

