An Invasion of One

The word “invasion” brings different scenarios to my mind.  I think of an army as it crosses a neighboring country’s borders during war.  I know when British rock and roll (The Beatles and the Rolling Stones) came to America it was described as an invasion.  Farmers understand the reality of this word when they see insects devouring their crops in the field.  Invasions can take place forcefully or they can infiltrate insidiously through time and apathy.

I was sitting in church yesterday at Lincolnway CC in New Lenox, when something that Dr. Jeff Robinson said struck me.  (Thank you, Jeff.)  He quoted what Jesus said in Matthew 12: 6, “I tell you that one greater than the temple is here.”  Jesus also said, “Destroy this temple, and I will raise it again in three days.”  (John 2: 19)  Jeff went on to say, “Jesus says, ‘I am the invading earth.  I am the temple ‘”  It was the word “invasion” that caught my attention.  I began to think about how this word so clearly applies to what took place when Jesus was born.  Jesus’ birth was literally an invasion of earth by heaven.  (This is also why I love another name of Jesus, Immanuel, which means, ‘God with us’.)

Invasions take place for a variety of reasons, but God’s invasion of One had one purpose:  the liberation of mankind.  I also recognize the entrance of Jesus into the world was different from the invasions we witness today in our world.  More on these differences in upcoming blogs.  Today, I thanked God today for his invasion of One, Jesus Christ, born in Bethlehem.  His invasion changed everything and continues to bring change.  How has his invasion changed you?

About lancehurley

Executive Director of Ignite Church Planting: Chicagoland
This entry was posted in Bible Thoughts, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

