The Benefits of a Coach

I just finished a coaching session with my coach and afterwards, a verse from Proverbs came to mind:  “As iron sharpens iron, so one man sharpens another”.  (Proverbs 27: 17)  I greatly appreciated the session today as we talked about some of the things taking place with Ignite and in my own life.  After the session, I jotted down a few benefits of having a coach.

A coach listens:  One thing I appreciate about my coach is his willingness to listen to what I have to say.  His agenda is determined by things I am encountering and he listens closely to what I am sharing with him. 

A coach asks questions:  Usually once or twice during the sessions, Mike will ask something that causes me to respond, “That is a good question!”  Listening to me, he helps me process current circumstances through the art of asking good questions.  He asks questions about my family life, my spiritual and personal life.  He ended our conversation today with the question, “Is there anything I didn’t ask that you are glad I didn’t ask?”  He rarely gives me his answers or advice, but helps me think things through with his help.

A coach challenges:  Several times today, he said, “Are you sure that this is the best use of your time?”  When he sees me over-extending or working outside my area of giftedness, he challenges my actions.  I have given him permission to do this, as it helps keep me on track and away from ineffectiveness. 

A coach wants what is best for me:  Today, we celebrated several recent victories we have enjoyed at Ignite.  We talked through opportunities that are headed our way and discussed potential challenges standing in the way of these opportunities.  He helped think things through having Ignite’s and my best interest in mind.  Mike has “Kingdom eyes”, wanting Ignite to become the most effective church planting organization possible. 

I am grateful for my coach.  I definitely feel “sharpened up” by spending time with him today.  Personally, I think that every person can benefit from having someone around them in this role.  I wonder, who is your coach?

About lancehurley

Executive Director of Ignite Church Planting: Chicagoland
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

