Seeing God’s Active Hand

I was in a series of meetings last week when a recurring theme bubbled up:  God’s active hand.  Each of my friends told me a story about how they had seen God’s hand at workin their life.  The first story was about how God had provided the ministry job for my friend at exactly the right time.  He described how all the different pieces fell into place and when we prayed together at the end of the meeting, I thanked God for what he had done.

The second meeting was with a friend from college and he detailed the story of how he and his wife had met.  She was a visitor to the campus where he was attending graduate school and their paths intersected a couple of times during the course of a single day.  By the end of the day, he had asked her to join him for a cup of coffee and when she left three days later, they began corresponding and were married within a few months.  (They have been married for over 30 years.)  As we talked about the incredibly precise timing of how things had worked out, I saw God’s hand at work.

The final meeting was with a friend who told me about a shortfall his ministry was facing at the end of 2015.  On December 30th, his financial administrator called to tell him about a bequest that had come into the ministry that day.  The amount of the bequest covered the shortfall (almost exactly)!  After he told me his story, I said, “I love seeing the hand of God at work!  This is the third God-story I have heard today!”  As we prayed together, I thanked God for his provision and care for this ministry.

Recently reading through the book of Ezekiel, I came upon the final verse of the book, “And the name of the city from that time on will be:  The Lord is There.”  This phrase, Jehovah-shammah, describes the active presence of the Lord.  This is a reality we can count on as we live following Jesus.  God will never leave or forsake us, he is always there for us.

I want to hear more stories of his active hand at work.  I want to open my eyes to seeing his active hand at work around me.  I want to share the stories he creates by showing up.  Watch for his hand and then share the story, it will encourage and strengthen others.

About lancehurley

Executive Director of Ignite Church Planting: Chicagoland
This entry was posted in Bible Thoughts, Reflections and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

