When the Wind Blows

The past couple of days in Chicagoland have been pretty windy (40 – 50+ mph gusts).  As I was sitting in my upstairs office listening to the sound of the wind against our house, I was reminded of something that happened in Acts 2.  “When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place.  Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a violent wind came from heaven and filled the whole house where they were sitting.”  The first indication of the Holy Spirit’s arrival was the sound of a violent wind.  After the past two days, I know that sound intimately.

The recent weather brought a couple of observations:

The wind can be experienced:  Not only was the presence of the wind obvious because of the sound it brought, but it also had a powerful touch.  I went on a walk during the wind and when traveling against it, I was bent over from the effort of pushing my way along.  The presence of the wind can be felt.

The wind has a definite effect:  I saw this as I watched the clouds racing across the sky being pushed by the wind.  There was trash blowing down the street as it was picked up and moved by the wind.  Then there were the trees that bending and twisting to the force blowing through them.  (I talked to one friend who lost a couple of large limbs from his trees because of the relentless pressure from the wind.)

The wind has power:  This power can change things rapidly.  We saw this during a recent blizzard as the wind covered up tracks made in the snow in minutes.  The wind can blow out the burners on a gas grill and will multiply and magnify fire as it feeds it with air.  Another indicator of the power of the wind was seen when the tornado sirens went off on Tuesday night because of strong storms rolling through our area.  (All of us have seen the power contained in tornadic winds.)

Jesus said in John 3:8, “The wind blows wherever it pleases.  You hear its sound, but you cannot tell where it comes from or where it is going.  So it is with everyone born of the Spirit.”

I wonder what would happen as I let the wind of the Spirit blow through my life more consistently.  Would I experience his directive effects more clearly, would I see his power at work more closely, would I spread his influence more broadly?  The next time you are out on a breezy day, think about the gift that God has given to us and about how his presence is impacting your life.  This is something I’m going to do.  Let the wind of the Spirit blow…

About lancehurley

Executive Director of Ignite Church Planting: Chicagoland
This entry was posted in Bible Thoughts, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

