Full, not Flat

Last week, I was heading to a meeting on my motorcycle when I experienced something strange.  My bike, which had always been faithful, suddenly became sluggish and hard to steer.  I went half a block, then pulled over to the side of the road to see what was causing the problem.  The culprit quickly became evident:  my front tire was going flat.  I turned  around and made my way back home.  Steering was a challenge, especially getting the bike turned up the driveway.  I filled the tire up and with the help of my wife discovered the cause:  I had picked up a piece of steel (it turned out to be a roofing nail) leading to a slow leak in the tire.  After a ride on the tow truck, my bike had a new tire and is now riding smoothly down the road again.

This adventure caused me to think about several things:

When I am not filled up, my steering goes bad.  From experience, I know that when I am at low ebb spiritually, I become reluctant and sluggish.  What I normally maneuver around becomes an obstacle that I cannot seem to avoid.

When I am not filled up, what is enjoyable and adventurous becomes a chore that fills me with anxiety.  I truly enjoy getting out on the bike, but when I didn’t know what was causing the problem, my imagination went into overdrive thinking of all sorts of potential problems.

When I am not filled up, there generally means there’s a cause that needs to be addressed.  Once the piece of metal in the tire was seen, it became evident what the course of action was:  I needed a new tire.  This course of action was pursued and that allowed me to get back on the road.

The last thing I realized is the most important:  when I am not filled up, life becomes very dangerous.  I drove with that going flat tire for a day, not realizing the danger that was sitting in my front tire.  I’m grateful for God’s protection, but I also know that when danger is revealed, we must do something about it, not leave it sitting there unresolved.

I will close this blog with one of Jesus’ favorite promises found in John 10: 10, “I have come that they  may have life, and have it to the full.” I have several different things that fill me up, how about you?  I will share more thoughts on this in another blog.

 

About lancehurley

Executive Director of Ignite Church Planting: Chicagoland
This entry was posted in Bible Thoughts, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

